Teachers *  About LFK * LFK en Espanol * Search LFK:   
Arizona
LFK Home Speak Up! Stories Toons Laws Justice for All Law Docs Change It! Games Links
Search Laws
 Law Topics
  Arrested (7)
  Bullying (1)
  Curfew (1)
  Driving (9)
  Emancipation (1)
  Family (3)
  Guns and Weapons (1)
  Illegal Substances (8)
  New Laws (4)
  Other (3)
  School (1)
  Trouble (8)
  Violence (5)

Latest Laws
  • DRIVING & ALCOHOL
  • DRIVER'S LICENSE
  • DRUNK DRIVING
  • JOYRIDING
  • LEARNER'S PERMIT

  • Search Dictionary

    Tell a friend about this page!
    Type a friend’s email address into the box below, then hit ‘send.

    Laws - View Law: LEARNER'S PERMIT


    Cars, Kids and Traffic Laws
    LEARNER'S PERMIT

    Did you know that if you are under 18 years of age, you need the consent and signature of an adult to apply for a permit and that the adult can be held responsible and liable should something happen while you are operating a motor vehicle.  Under the law, a person who signs the application of a minor for a permit or license can be held responsible and liable for damages caused by the negligence or willful misconduct of a minor while driving a motor vehicle.

    Applying for a Permit: A.R.S. §28-3154

    1. You must be at least 15 years and 7 months to apply for a permit for a Class D driver’s license. Beginning on January 1, 2000 you will be need to apply for a permit for a Class G Driver’s license. (House Bill 2438 changes the driver’s license for 16-18 year-olds from a Class D to a Class G license. This goes into effect on January 1, 2000.)
    2. You must pass a written exam to obtain a permit.
    3. A permit only entitles you, the permittee, to drive a motor vehicle, excluding a motorcycle, on public highways for 12 months. While you are driving you must:

      A.   Have your permit in your possession.
      B.  Be accompanied by a person with a driver’s license.
      C.  Have the licensed driver sitting beside you while you are driving.

    4. You must be at least 15 years and 7 months old to apply for a permit for a Class M license which is to operate a motorcycle (ARS 28-3156).
    5. A permit for a Class M license is valid for 6 months.

    Cancellation of license:  A.R.S. §28-3162
    A person or parent who signs that application of a minor for a drivers license may file a written request to cancel the driver license of a minor.

    Unlicensed minor liability:  A.R.S. §28-3163
    An owner or owners of a motor vehicle who causes or who knowingly permits an unlicensed minor to drive a vehicle on a highway or who gives and or furnishes a motor vehicle to an unlicensed minor are liable, along with the minor for damages caused by the negligence or willful misconduct of the minor in driving the vehicle.


    Comments
    1 thru 5 of 126 comments    [ 1 ]  2   3   4   5  ...   
    On 05/26/09
    KIM from TX said:
    O.K SO HOW DO YOU GET IT ALL STARTED? I MEAN HOW DO YOU GET YOUR PERMIT?
    On 03/21/09
    Adam from AZ said:
    Hello, I see that many people complain saying this law is ridiculous and well to be honest just study the book and get your permit. I do have a question though. Do I need a log sheet for driving in Arizona since I am new to the state from CA and already have my permit. Thanks for the help, ~Adam
    On 03/19/09
    phil from AZ said:
    you dont have to wait till your 18 to drive, you have to have you permit [valid for 5months]with a parent signature [consent] then you can get you licence with you parents signature [consent],
    On 01/07/09
    alex from MA said:
    if i get a permit in arizona am i alowed to take it and drive in other states
    On 12/28/08
    Grace from AZ said:
    Thanks for this info!
    1 thru 5 of 126 comments    [ 1 ]  2   3   4   5  ...   



    Read more about the law and Driving
    Related Speak Up! Questions
    Related Stories
    LFK Home   |   Speak Up!   |   Stories   |   Toons   |   Laws   |   Justice for All   |   Law Docs   |   Change It!   |   Games   |   Links
    Disclaimer: The information contained in this site is made available as a public service to the general public and is not intended to serve as legal advice. You should consult a trained legal professional for questions you may have about the laws affecting juveniles or any legal interpretations.

    Send Feedback regarding website content or to report bugs.
    Copyright © 1998 - 2017. Arizona Foundation for Legal Services & Education, All rights reserved

    Privacy Policy  |  Terms of use  |  Disclaimer  |  Contact Us