Teachers *  About LFK * LFK en Espanol * Search LFK:   
Arizona
LFK Home Speak Up! Stories Toons Laws Justice for All Law Docs Change It! Games Links
Search Questions
 Speak Up! Topics
  Arrested (61)
  Banking (5)
  Bullying (6)
  Contracts (5)
  Credit (4)
  Curfew (44)
  Drinking (25)
  Driving (187)
  Emancipation (67)
  Family (219)
  Guns and Weapons (23)
  Housing (17)
  Illegal Substances (91)
  Jury Duty (15)
  Marriage (16)
  New Laws (15)
  Other (378)
  School (118)
  Sexual Assault and Misconduct (31)
  Trouble (34)
  Vandalism and Property Damage (8)
  Violence (87)
  Voting (6)
  When You Turn 18 (107)
  Work and Employment (24)

Latest Questions
  • Is it illegal to download foreign items that is not licensed in United States?

  • I have a questions for you. Since i'm emancipated do I still have to have my parent sign for me to get a tatoo in arizona. And if not would i have to bring the emancipation papers with me to get a tatoo.thanx for answering all my questions.

  • how many people can i have in my car,and what is the curfew in goodyear,az

  • what is the cerfew for pinetop-lakeside, az?

  • Can I get emancipated if I'm only 15, if I'm pregnant, and still going to school? And can I live with my boyfriend which he has a job and will prvied everything needed for me and my baby.

  • Search Dictionary

    Tell a friend about this page!
    Type a friend’s email address into the box below, then hit ‘send.

    Speak Up! - View Question #17744


    printer friendly version

    Question: I just watched this report on 60 Minutes with these parents that let their kids have a party and someone drove home drunk and killed themselves. I believe in Kansas they did not have a law against parents that allow parties, but have alcohol, as long as the parents did not supply it. Does anyone know in Arizona if there is a law against parents having parties with underage drinking, but if they did not supply it?

    Answer:

    It is against Arizona law for parents to allow a party with underage drinking even if the parents did not supply the alcohol.  According to ARS 4-241(H), if:

    1. the adult lives in a home/apartment/etc., AND...
    2. the adult allows 2 or more minors to gather in the home/apt. etc., AND...
    3. the minors are not permanently living with the adult nor a close family member of the adult, AND...
    4. the adult knows there is underage drinking, THEN...

    ...the adult can be charged with a Class 1 Misdemeanor.  The punishment can be up to $2,500 or 6 months in jail.    

     


    Comments
    1 thru 1 of 1 comments    [ 1 ]   
    On 02/17/09
    herrrr from AZ said:
    I THINK PARENTS SHOULD GET IN TROUBLE IF THEY ARE ALLOWING THEIR CHILDREN TO HAVE PARTIES WHERE THERE IS ALCOHOL... LIKE THIS STIORY THERE TAKIN THE CHANCES OF LETTING KIDS DRVIE HOME AND KILLING INNOCENT BECAUSE THERE SO SMASHED
    1 thru 1 of 1 comments    [ 1 ]   



    Read more about the law and Other
    Related Stories
    Related Laws
    LFK Home   |   Speak Up!   |   Stories   |   Toons   |   Laws   |   Justice for All   |   Law Docs   |   Change It!   |   Games   |   Links
    Disclaimer: The information contained in this site is made available as a public service to the general public and is not intended to serve as legal advice. You should consult a trained legal professional for questions you may have about the laws affecting juveniles or any legal interpretations.

    Send Feedback regarding website content or to report bugs.
    Copyright © 1998 - 2018. Arizona Foundation for Legal Services & Education, All rights reserved

    Privacy Policy  |  Terms of use  |  Disclaimer  |  Contact Us