Speak Up! - View Question #579
printer friendly version
Question: How many years can you get for rape?
Answer: The legal term for rape is 'sexual assault'. Arizona Law (ARS § 13-1406) says someone commits Sexual Assault if they 'intentionally or knowingly engaging in sexual intercourse or oral sexual contact with any person without consent of such person'.
Sexual assault is a class 2 felony, and a person convicted of it is not eligible for suspension of sentence, probation, pardon or release until the full sentence is served.
If the victim of a sexual assault or rape is under fifteen years of age, then it is called a 'dangerous crime against children' and it carries more severe penalties (ARS 13-604.01).
If the sexual assault involved the intentional use of a date rape drug, then the sentence for the offense shall be increased by three years.
On the first offense of sexual assault, there is a Minimum prison sentence of 5.25 years with a maximum or 14 years. On the second offense, the minimum term is 7 years and the maximum is 21 years. And on the third, the minimum is 14 years with a maximum of 28 years.
If the sexual assault involved the intentional infliction of serious physical injury, the person may be sentenced to life imprisonment and is not eligible for suspension of sentence, probation, pardon or release from confinement until at least twenty-five years have been served or the sentence is commuted.
If you are in need of immediate help with an abuse issue, call one of the hotlines below:
-ArizonaChild Protective Services 888-SOS-CHILD or
-Child Help USA Hotline 800-422-4453
-National Crisis/Suicide Hotline 800-999-9999
-National Domestic Violence Hotline 800-799-7233
-Teen Link (Various Topics) 800-235-9678
-Youth Crisis Hotline 800-448-4663
If you believe that you are in danger of physical harm, call 911 immediately!