Teachers *  About LFK * LFK en Espanol * Search LFK:   
Arizona
LFK Home Speak Up! Stories Toons Laws Justice for All Law Docs Change It! Games Links
Search Laws
 Law Topics
  Arrested (7)
  Bullying (1)
  Curfew (1)
  Driving (9)
  Emancipation (1)
  Family (3)
  Guns and Weapons (1)
  Illegal Substances (8)
  New Laws (4)
  Other (3)
  School (1)
  Trouble (8)
  Violence (5)

Latest Laws
  • DRIVING & ALCOHOL
  • DRIVER'S LICENSE
  • DRUNK DRIVING
  • JOYRIDING
  • LEARNER'S PERMIT

  • Search Dictionary

    Tell a friend about this page!
    Type a friend’s email address into the box below, then hit ‘send.

    Laws - View Law: SEX OFFENSES


    SEX OFFENSES

    Beware of the serious consequences of committing any of the following sex offenses in the State of Arizona:

    In the State of Arizona, a person under 18 years old CANNOT consent to engage in sexual conduct (A.R.S. § 13-1401).

    Under Arizona law, sexual conduct is when a person intentionally or knowingly engages in sexual intercourse or oral sexual contact with a person under 18 years of age. Sexual conduct with a minor 15, 16 or 17 years old is class 6 felony. Sexual conduct with a minor under fifteen years of age is a class 2 felony.

    If you are a juvenile, and the victim is under 15 years, the county attorney has the discretion to bring adult charges against you (see Juvenile Justice). If the victim is 15 years or older, the county attorney has the option of asking a judge to allow him to bring adult charges against you. If a parent, stepparent, adoptive parent, legal guardian or foster parent engages in sexual conduct with a minor the person will be charged with a class 2 felony and could carry a prison term of 3 to 27 years maximum sentence (A.R.S. § 13-604.01).

    Sexual assault is when a person intentionally or knowingly engages in sexual intercourse or oral sexual contact with any person without consent of such a person and is a class 2 felony. In the State of Arizona, a person under the age of 18 years old cannot consent to sexual intercourse or oral sexual contact. A first time offense can lead to a prison term from 5.2 to 14 years.

    Sexual abuse is intentionally or knowingly engaging in sexual contact with any person 15 years of age of older without consent of that person or with any person which is under 15 years of age if the sexual contact involves only the female breast. If the victim is 15 years or older it is a class 5 felony. If the victim is under 15 years of age, it is a class 3 felony.

    If a juvenile is at least 15 years of age or older and commits a class 3 or higher felony sex offense, the juvenile will be tried as an adult. One such offense is forcible sexual assault which means if you use immediate or threaten to use immediate force during the commission of a sexual offense, you will automatically be tired in adult court. Once tried as an adult, always tried as an adult for any other crime even if you are a juvenile.

    If a juvenile is under 15 years of age and commits a class 3 or higher felony sex offense, it is at the discretion of the county attorney to request a transfer of juvenile to adult court. If you commit a crime and are under fourteen years old, the county attorney must petition the court to request a transfer hearing.

    If you need help, call one of these crisis hotlines:

    • Child Help USA Hotline 800-422-4453
    • Child Protective Services 888-SOS-CHILD or 888-767-2445
    • Pregnancy Hotline 800-848-5683
    • Youth Crisis Hotline 800-448-4663


    Comments
    36 thru 40 of 188 comments    ...  6   7  [ 8 ]  9   10  ...   
    On 08/09/07
    kai from AZ said:
    I think that the legal age of consent should be 16. I have been with my boyfriend since i was 16. He is now 23 and i am now 18, but i dont see what the big deal with 5 years is. I mean, 20 and 25 doesnt seem like anything at all! &believe me, when we started having sex, i was consenting to it for sure!
    On 08/05/07
    fideli from MD said:
    i have a 16teen yr old dauaghter who is havin sex with a 27yr old the police here in md tells me there is nothin they can do help me understand this
    On 07/26/07
    ted from AL said:
    you people that are trying to charge these young guys are nuts!!!trying to charge a 16yr old? what is wrong with you...the two wanted to have sex and your pissed so you want to ruin lives???? too me sending a 16yr old to jail with murderers is much more of a crime..get a grip people
    On 07/18/07
    Sam A from AZ said:
    I am not sure, but I think technically it is illegal for me and my boyfriend to still have sex. We have been together about 3 years and have a 9 month old daughter. He is only 11 months older than me, he is 18 and I am 17. I just think that is stupid!!!!
    On 07/17/07
    Sarah from AZ said:
    PLEASE HELP I'm 17 years old and my boyfriend is 19 and we are sexually active and are in a pregnancy scare. I've been researching AZ statutory rape laws and AOC laws but they are sooo unclear and have been changed but I can't find the updated version. I would be very grateful if anyone could tell me AZ (AOC), the punishment for breaking that law, and if the state can convict for the impregnation of a minor
    36 thru 40 of 188 comments    ...  6   7  [ 8 ]  9   10  ...   



    Read more about the law and Other
    Related Speak Up! Questions
    Related Stories
    LFK Home   |   Speak Up!   |   Stories   |   Toons   |   Laws   |   Justice for All   |   Law Docs   |   Change It!   |   Games   |   Links
    Disclaimer: The information contained in this site is made available as a public service to the general public and is not intended to serve as legal advice. You should consult a trained legal professional for questions you may have about the laws affecting juveniles or any legal interpretations.

    Send Feedback regarding website content or to report bugs.
    Copyright © 1998 - 2019. Arizona Foundation for Legal Services & Education, All rights reserved

    Privacy Policy  |  Terms of use  |  Disclaimer  |  Contact Us