Speak Up! - View Question #12900

« LawForKids.org home page | « Go back to speak up question #12900

Question: What are two houses of congress?

Answer: The two houses of the U.S. Congress are the U.S. House of Representatives and the U.S. Senate.  These two houses are referred to as the "Legislative Branch" and are described in our U.S. Constitution in Article I. 

When the Founding Fathers were drafting the U.S. Constitution, they could not agree on a fair way to decide how many legislators would represent each state.  The big states wanted representation to be based on population, which would give them more representatives.  Small states wanted a set amount of representatives for each state, which would make all states equal.  In what some call the "Great Compromise" they decided on a "bicameral" legislature made up of two houses - one with a set number of representatives per state (the Senate) and one with proportional representation based on population (the House of Representatives).  This compromise lead to the ratification of the U.S. Constitution in 1789. For over 200 years our country has operated under the same Legislative system.

To read more about the Legislative Branch of our government, visit the LawDocs section of LawForKids.org.

1 thru 5 of 7 comments
On 05/05/09
from AL said:
well..it really helped
On 10/27/08
sarahh from CT said:
well your teacher must be wrong then.(:
On 09/29/08
ally from MA said:
my teacher said i was wrong on that
On 01/12/08
Alonaa from AL said:
thts so awsom! totly. thnxs gov.
On 12/11/07
jin from DE said:
1 thru 5 of 7 comments

Read more about the law and Other
Related Stories
Related Laws
« LawForKids.org home page | « Go back to speak up question #12900