Teachers *  About LFK * LFK en Espanol * Search LFK:   
Arizona
LFK Home Speak Up! Stories Toons Laws Justice for All Law Docs Change It! Games Links
Search Questions
 Speak Up! Topics
  Arrested (61)
  Banking (5)
  Bullying (6)
  Contracts (5)
  Credit (4)
  Curfew (44)
  Drinking (25)
  Driving (187)
  Emancipation (67)
  Family (219)
  Guns and Weapons (23)
  Housing (17)
  Illegal Substances (91)
  Jury Duty (15)
  Marriage (16)
  New Laws (15)
  Other (378)
  School (118)
  Sexual Assault and Misconduct (31)
  Trouble (34)
  Vandalism and Property Damage (8)
  Violence (87)
  Voting (6)
  When You Turn 18 (107)
  Work and Employment (24)

Latest Questions
  • Is it illegal to download foreign items that is not licensed in United States?

  • I have a questions for you. Since i'm emancipated do I still have to have my parent sign for me to get a tatoo in arizona. And if not would i have to bring the emancipation papers with me to get a tatoo.thanx for answering all my questions.

  • how many people can i have in my car,and what is the curfew in goodyear,az

  • what is the cerfew for pinetop-lakeside, az?

  • Can I get emancipated if I'm only 15, if I'm pregnant, and still going to school? And can I live with my boyfriend which he has a job and will prvied everything needed for me and my baby.

  • Search Dictionary

    Tell a friend about this page!
    Type a friend’s email address into the box below, then hit ‘send.

    Speak Up! - View Question #75


    printer friendly version

    Question: What is the fine for driving without insurance?

    Answer: The No Insurance law in Arizona (ARS 28-4135) carries a civil, not criminal, penalty. The fines for breaking this law have a 77% surcharge added to them and some courts also add "user fees", so the actual fine is usually more than what is listed below. The penalties are as follows:

    1st Offense - $250 fine with surcharge = $442.50 The Judge can also suspend your license and registration for Three Months, although this is seldom done on a first offense.

    2nd Offense - $500 with surcharges = $885.00 Drivers license and registration suspension for Six Months is sometimes given on second offenses.

    3rd Offense - $ 750 with surcharges = $ 1,327.50 A one-year license and registration suspension is required.

    The law contains a provision (ARS 28-4137) that allows the Judge to waive some or all of the fines if you bring proof to court showing you have purchased a six-month insurance policy on the vehicle. Often the Court will reschedule the case for about a month to give you a chance to get the insurance, since the main reason for the law is to make sure everyone is driving with insurance. You are better off using your money to get insurance than to keep paying big fines for not having it.


    Comments
    1 thru 5 of 15 comments    [ 1 ]  2   3    
    On 09/04/08
    jen from AZ said:
    i got a ticket for driving my mothers car whose imsurance was suspended two hours prior to the incident. i was furious being that at the age of 17, i was unable to even lagally fix the problem, you must be 18 in order to register your vehicle. i had no knowledge that the plates were even bad. but i eventually got stuck paying 500 dollars. im still bitter. they should have sent the ticket to my mother.
    On 08/15/08
    Brenda from CA said:
    I got ticket on2003 for driving without a licence and insuarance idid not show up to court so igot a warrant what can i do to get my drivers licence
    On 02/23/06
    Yvette from CA said:
    I had an accident two days before my 18th birthday. Some kid from my school purposely rear ended me and knocked off my bumper. My insurance had expired five days before due to non-payment. I re-instated on the same day of the accident. The other guy has insurance. Can they cover the damages still?
    On 04/20/05
    AL from KS said:
    I HAD AN ACSIDENTE AND THA GIRL HAD PRUF OF INSURANCE TREE DAYS LATER PROGRESSIVE COMPANY CALLED ME AND THEY SED THAT HER POLICY WAS CANCELLED A MONTH AGO BECAUSE SHE DIDNT PAY THE PAYMENT ON THE INSURANCE NOW I HAVE TO CAMUP WITH THE $500.00 DEDUCTIBLE NOW I TINK PEOPLE THAT DONT HAVE CAR INSURANSE AND THEY GET CAGUT OR HAVE AN ACSIDENT WITH OUT INSURANCE THEY NEED TO SUSPEND THEYR LISENCE FOR LIFE SO THEY LEARN. THANK YOU FOR LETING ME POST MY COMMENT
    On 12/28/04
    simian from AZ said:
    "The law contains a provision (ARS 28-4137) that allows the Judge to waive some or all of the fines if you bring proof to court showing you have purchased a six-month insurance policy on the vehicle." Well, I think that is very reasonable. I am a student and a financial dependent. I can only purchase what my financial benefactor authorizes me to, though I did tell him thrice, "I need auto insurance!" A student's hands are often tied, financially, trying to make it in a world where everybody has their hands stretched out to take all of the shekels from us that they can.
    1 thru 5 of 15 comments    [ 1 ]  2   3    



    Read more about the law and Driving
    Related Stories
    Related Laws
    LFK Home   |   Speak Up!   |   Stories   |   Toons   |   Laws   |   Justice for All   |   Law Docs   |   Change It!   |   Games   |   Links
    Navigate to this web-site: address of the page roaccutane 20mg buy online look at more info.
    Disclaimer: The information contained in this site is made available as a public service to the general public and is not intended to serve as legal advice. You should consult a trained legal professional for questions you may have about the laws affecting juveniles or any legal interpretations.

    Send Feedback regarding website content or to report bugs.
    Copyright © 1998 - 2020. Arizona Foundation for Legal Services & Education, All rights reserved

    Privacy Policy  |  Terms of use  |  Disclaimer  |  Contact Us