Teachers *  About LFK * LFK en Espanol * Search LFK:   
Arizona
LFK Home Speak Up! Stories Toons Laws Justice for All Law Docs Change It! Games Links
Search Laws
 Law Topics
  Arrested (7)
  Bullying (1)
  Curfew (1)
  Driving (9)
  Emancipation (1)
  Family (3)
  Guns and Weapons (1)
  Illegal Substances (8)
  New Laws (4)
  Other (3)
  School (1)
  Trouble (8)
  Violence (5)

Latest Laws
  • DRIVING & ALCOHOL
  • DRIVER'S LICENSE
  • DRUNK DRIVING
  • JOYRIDING
  • LEARNER'S PERMIT

  • Search Dictionary

    Tell a friend about this page!
    Type a friend’s email address into the box below, then hit ‘send.

    Laws - View Law: CURFEW


    What is Curfew?

    Curfew is how late you can legally stay outside in a public place. The State of Arizona allows each city to set curfews, and they can be different from place to place. If you violate curfew you may be ticked, have to pay a fine or do community service or held at the police station while a parent or guardian is called. Your parent or guardian is also susceptible to being cited for your violation of curfew laws., or che. Curfews are often different on weekends and weeknights and are often different if you are under the age of 16 or under the age of 18.

    Laws

    Each city enforces its own laws and those of the State. A city’s law is sometimes called a 'Municipal Code' or 'City Code.’ Curfew times vary from city to city within Arizona. Your best source for the curfew law in your city is your local police department or city attorney’s office. You may also search a municipal code web site for more information. Generally, you can be out past curfew only if you:

    • Are with your parent or guardian;
    • Are with an adult and have prior permission from your parent or guardian;
    • You are traveling to another state in a motor vehicle and have permission from your parent or guardian;
    • You are going or returning from work by the most direct route without any detours or stops;
    • You are involved in an emergency or have prior permission from your parent or guardian and are engaged in a reasonable, legitimate, and specific business and/or activity;
    • You have prior permission from your parent or guardian, and engaged in a reasonable exercise of your First Amendment Rights protected by the United States Constitution;
    • You are married and 16 years of age or over, or in the military, are on the sidewalk in front of your house or on the next-door neighbor's property with their consent.

    Possible consequences if curfew is violated:

    • Some police departments issue tickets for violating curfew
    • Some may give you a warning or take you to the police station and call your parents
    • You may have to pay a fine or do community service and have a juvenile record
    • Your parents or guardian may have to pay a fine, do community service
    • Both you and your parents may be found guilty of a misdemeanor.

    A sample of some curfew laws for selected cities:

    Casa Grande: Age 15 and under (everyday, including weekends) : 10:00 P.M. to 5:00 A.M.; 16 -18 years (everyday, including weekends) : Midnight to 5:00 A.M.

    Chandler: Age 15 and under: 10 P.M . to 5:00 A.M. (everyday, including weekends); Ages 16-18 years: Midnight to 5:00 A.M. (everyday including weekends). Juveniles are allowed out after the specified times if they are accompanied by a parent, legal guardian, or spouse, or have written permission from the same. Curfew is considered 'over' at 5 A.M.

    Clarkdale/Cottonwood: Age 15 under: 10:00 P.M. to 5:00 A.M. everyday, including weekends; Age 16 -17: Midnight to 5:00 A.M. everyday, including weekends.

    Mesa: Age 16 or younger: 10 P.M. to 5:00 A.M. everyday, including weekends; Age 16-18: 12 am midnight to 5:00 A.M. everyday, including weekends; Violating this law is a misdemeanor, and the penalties include a maximum fine of $2,500.00 or imprisonment for up to six (6) months, or both.

    Phoenix (including the Ahwatukee area) : Under age 16: 10 P.M. to 5:00 AM everyday, including weekends; Age 16-18: 12 am midnight to 5:00 A.M. everyday, including weekends

    Peoria : : Age 15 or under: 10:00 P.M. to 5:00 AM everyday, including weekends; Age 16 -18: 12:00 to 5:00 A.M. everyday, including weekends. Violating Peoria’s curfew law is a misdemeanor, and the penalties include a fine of $50 to $150 plus fees with mandatory community service or educational programs. Parents found guilty of allowing their kids to stay out past curfew are guilty of a class one misdemeanor too, and can be fined $100-$250. Parents might also have to pay extra fees related to the City's court costs and might have to perform community service, counseling, educational programs or even be placed on probation.

    Scottsdale : :Age 15 and under: 10:00 P.M. to 5:00 A.M. everyday, including weekends; Age 16 -18: 12:00 to 5:00 A.M. everyday, including weekends.

    Tucson : : Age 16 years or younger: 10 P.M. to 5:00 A.M. everyday, including weekends; Age 16-18: midnight to 5:00 A.M. everyday, including weekends. In addition, minors younger than 16 cannot remain, loiter or cruise in any vehicle in the county or its unincorporated areas between 10 p.m. and 5 a.m. The same law applies to 16- and 17-year-olds, between midnight and 5 a.m. The fine for a curfew violation is $25 for the first violation, up to $50 for the second violation, and up to $75 for the third violation.

    Your best source for the curfew law in your city is your local police department or city attorney’s office. You may also search an external Municipal Code web site for more city codes.


    Comments
    1 thru 5 of 260 comments    [ 1 ]  2   3   4   5  ...   
    On 05/28/09
    Nitara from AZ said:
    I strongly disagree about the curfew in Prescott, Arizona. It's utter nonsense, maybe kids like to have a bit of fun in their lives. However, restricting us from being out later, only makes us lazier, and more boring. And especially when there's already nothing to do in this small town, having to be in at 10 makes it even worse.
    On 05/28/09
    Nitara from AZ said:
    I strongly disagree about the curfew in Prescott, Arizona. It's utter nonsense, maybe kids like to have a bit of fun in their lives. However, restricting us from being out later, only makes us lazier, and more boring. And especially when there's already nothing to do in this small town, having to be in at 10 makes it even worse.
    On 05/23/09
    from AZ said:
    I am a concerned parent and I think the curfew should be from 7pm onto 5 am for all people under 21
    On 05/22/09
    Pyro from AZ said:
    What i think is that now that i am 187 i have more freedoms but for me to have a curfew of 12am... THAT IS ******* RIDICULOUS!!! I am old enough to vote and to do almost everything but really a curfew?!?!?!? that is childish for 18 year olds!!!
    On 05/02/09
    from AZ said:
    i think it is so stupid that there is a curfew do they really think it is going to stop teens from neeking out. The curfew should be later on the weekends. I can't belive it is a 25 hundred dollar fine for being out past curfew this law is basicly a joke and most teens don't go buy it anyways
    1 thru 5 of 260 comments    [ 1 ]  2   3   4   5  ...   



    Read more about the law and Family, Other, Arrested and Curfew
    Related Speak Up! Questions
    Related Stories
    LFK Home   |   Speak Up!   |   Stories   |   Toons   |   Laws   |   Justice for All   |   Law Docs   |   Change It!   |   Games   |   Links
    Disclaimer: The information contained in this site is made available as a public service to the general public and is not intended to serve as legal advice. You should consult a trained legal professional for questions you may have about the laws affecting juveniles or any legal interpretations.

    Send Feedback regarding website content or to report bugs.
    Copyright © 1998 - 2017. Arizona Foundation for Legal Services & Education, All rights reserved

    Privacy Policy  |  Terms of use  |  Disclaimer  |  Contact Us