Speak Up! - View Question #13231

« LawForKids.org home page | « Go back to speak up question #13231

Question: The last two new Cabinet postions and new Departments were created under whom?

Answer: The President is the head of the Executive branch of our government.  He oversees the operation of the federal government, which is divided up into several specialized departments.  The heads of these departments, and the people who advise the President on matters relating to the departments, are called the Cabinet. Although it is not mentioned in the Constitution, the Cabinet is confirmed by the U.S. Senate under the "advise and consent" clause of Article II Section 2 of the U.S. Constitution.

The newest cabinet office, the Department of Homeland Security, was created by President George W. Bush in 2002 as a result of the September 11, 2001 terrorist attack on the World Trade Center. 

Prior to that, President Reagan created a new federal Cabinet-level Department of Veterans Affairs to replace the Veterans Administration that went into effect in 1989 when George H.W. Bush was President.

For more information on the President's current cabinet, visit the White House website.

0 thru 0 of 0 comments
Sorry, there are currently no comments posted
0 thru 0 of 0 comments

Read more about the law and Other
Related Stories
Related Laws
« LawForKids.org home page | « Go back to speak up question #13231