Teachers *  About LFK * LFK en Espanol * Search LFK:   
Arizona
LFK Home Speak Up! Stories Toons Laws Justice for All Law Docs Change It! Games Links
Search Laws
 Law Topics
  Arrested (7)
  Bullying (1)
  Curfew (1)
  Driving (9)
  Emancipation (1)
  Family (3)
  Guns and Weapons (1)
  Illegal Substances (8)
  New Laws (4)
  Other (3)
  School (1)
  Trouble (8)
  Violence (5)

Latest Laws
  • DRIVING & ALCOHOL
  • DRIVER'S LICENSE
  • DRUNK DRIVING
  • JOYRIDING
  • LEARNER'S PERMIT

  • Search Dictionary

    Tell a friend about this page!
    Type a friend’s email address into the box below, then hit ‘send.

    Laws - View Law: DRUNK DRIVING


    UPDATE 9/1/01 - the legal limit for alcohol in your system (blood alcohol content) to be considered DUI has just been lowered from .10 to .08 in Arizona. Although it is illegal for you to drink if you are not 21 years of age, this new law lowers the threshold for being legally drunk while driving. There are very serious consequences to drinking and driving...

    If you are under 18 years old, you are considered a minor or a juvenile. If you are a juvenile and arrested and convicted for driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs this is what will happen:

    1. You will be incarcerated for 24 hours in a juvenile detention center or the Arizona Department of Juvenile Corrections for a first time DUI.

    2. Your drivers license or privileges will be suspended for two(2) years.

    3. You must pay a fine of at least $100 and not more than $500 plus surcharges.

    4. You must undergo mandatory drug and alcohol screening, education and treatment and pay all the costs. Your parent or guardian may also be ordered to pay the costs.

    5. You may be ordered to perform at least 80 hours of community service.

    6. The DUI conviction will remain on your drivers license record for 60 months.

    If you commit a second DUI violation within 60 months you will be:

    1. Locked up for 30 days in a juvenile detention center or the Arizona Department of Juvenile Corrections.

    2. All fines, penalties and mandatory testing are applied as in a first offense.

    If you commit a 3rd DUI offense within 60 months, you are now guilty of Aggravated DUI and the penalty includes:

    Locked up for a minimum of 4 months and all fines, penalties and mandatory testing apply.

    If you commit a 4th DUI offense within 60 months, you will be:

    Locked up for a minimum of 8 months and all fines, penalties and mandatory testing apply.

    If you are a juvenile and commit a DUI while you are driving on a cancelled, suspended, revoked or refused drivers license any prior offense or on a restricted license for a prior DUI, you are guilty of a class 4 felony. The punishment is the same as though you had a prior two(2) DUI's and this the 3rd DUI, meaning that you may spend up to 4 months in lockup.

    If you are a juvenile and commit a DUI while you are driving on a license that has been cancelled, suspended, revoked, or restricted for a prior DUI, you are guilty of a class 4 felony. You will spend 30 days in a juvenile detention center or incarcerated at the Arizona Department of Juvenile Corrections. You will also receive a chronic offender notice.


    Comments
    31 thru 35 of 49 comments    ...  6  [ 7 ]  8   9   10    
    On 10/24/03
    Devon from NJ said:
    I'm in English class and we're researching Drunk Driving and I just wanted to say HELLO !!!!!!! Good Luck TO everyone. BYE !
    On 09/03/03
    bobby from AZ said:
    u r mean you were probabally young at our age and did the same thing
    On 06/27/03
    Caitlin from AZ said:
    I was just arrested a month ago and was charged with dui when i only blew a .03. the legal"drunk" limit it .08 but since im underage there is no legal 'drunk" limit for me, no matter how much youve had to drink, any ammount, a sip of beer, you can be arrested for a dui when your underage. i do think after all ive been through so far that the punishment shouldnt be as harsh as it may be ..loosing your license until your 21? thigs like work and being able to go to the mall and my frineds keeps me out of trouble but i wont be able to even get my self to school and back without my license
    On 06/10/03
    john doe from TX said:
    I was just looking at this page, and i noticed the statistics your organization gave. I agree with Megan from 11/02. Most of the accidents, alcohol related, are commited by those of the older age groups. So take that into consideration before giving all these "so called" facts to all the other people in the state.
    On 04/08/03
    Gordon from AZ said:
    I am writing a paper in ENG 101 at Glendale community College. It is a persuauive essay to deter people from driving under the influence of alcohol OR DRUGS. Everyone only seems to be concerned with DUI of alcohol.
    31 thru 35 of 49 comments    ...  6  [ 7 ]  8   9   10    



    Read more about the law and Driving and Illegal Substances
    Related Speak Up! Questions
    Related Stories
    LFK Home   |   Speak Up!   |   Stories   |   Toons   |   Laws   |   Justice for All   |   Law Docs   |   Change It!   |   Games   |   Links
    Find out this here: learn more cheap accutane for sale you can try here.
    Disclaimer: The information contained in this site is made available as a public service to the general public and is not intended to serve as legal advice. You should consult a trained legal professional for questions you may have about the laws affecting juveniles or any legal interpretations.

    Send Feedback regarding website content or to report bugs.
    Copyright © 1998 - 2020. Arizona Foundation for Legal Services & Education, All rights reserved

    Privacy Policy  |  Terms of use  |  Disclaimer  |  Contact Us