Speak Up! - View Question #16974
printer friendly version
Question: If you don’t get your license until you turn 18, do you still have to get your permit for 5 months?
Visit the Arizona Department of Motor Vehicles guide to drivers licenses for specific guidelines for teenagers between the ages of 15 years and 7 months and under age 18. You can apply for a class D License at age 18.
There are several different types of licenses, but the most common for those under 18 is a class G license. A class G license is for someone who is at least 16, but less than 18 years of age. To apply for a class G license you must have held an Arizona permit for at least 5 months or have a license for another state, you must successfully complete a driver’s education program approved by the MVD or have your parent/guardian certify in writing that you have completed 25 hours of supervised driving practice including at least 5 hours of night driving. If you have a class G license, you do not have to get a class D license when you turn 18, but you can if you want to.
Visit the Arizona Motor Vehicles Division website to get more answers to your driving questions.
See also Speak Up question #16: Did Arizona pass a law where you can't drive until you are 18?