Teachers *  About LFK * LFK en Espanol * Search LFK:   
Arizona
LFK Home Speak Up! Stories Toons Laws Justice for All Law Docs Change It! Games Links
Search Questions
 Speak Up! Topics
  Arrested (61)
  Banking (5)
  Bullying (6)
  Contracts (5)
  Credit (4)
  Curfew (44)
  Drinking (25)
  Driving (187)
  Emancipation (67)
  Family (219)
  Guns and Weapons (23)
  Housing (17)
  Illegal Substances (91)
  Jury Duty (15)
  Marriage (16)
  New Laws (15)
  Other (378)
  School (118)
  Sexual Assault and Misconduct (31)
  Trouble (34)
  Vandalism and Property Damage (8)
  Violence (87)
  Voting (6)
  When You Turn 18 (107)
  Work and Employment (24)

Latest Questions
  • Is it illegal to download foreign items that is not licensed in United States?

  • I have a questions for you. Since i'm emancipated do I still have to have my parent sign for me to get a tatoo in arizona. And if not would i have to bring the emancipation papers with me to get a tatoo.thanx for answering all my questions.

  • how many people can i have in my car,and what is the curfew in goodyear,az

  • what is the cerfew for pinetop-lakeside, az?

  • Can I get emancipated if I'm only 15, if I'm pregnant, and still going to school? And can I live with my boyfriend which he has a job and will prvied everything needed for me and my baby.

  • Search Dictionary

    Tell a friend about this page!
    Type a friend’s email address into the box below, then hit ‘send.

    Speak Up! - View Question #21


    printer friendly version

    Question:

    What is the consequence for a DUI?



    Answer:

    A DUI is defined as driving 'while under the influence of intoxicating liquor, any drug, a vapor releasing substance if the person is impaired to the slightest degree.' (ARS 28-1381)

    If it is your first DUI violation and your Blood Alcohol Content is above .10 but below .18, you will have to serve ten days in jail, pay a fine of at least two hundred fifty dollars, and you may also be ordered to perform community service.

    However, if it is your first offense and your Blood Alcohol Content is .18 or higher then you are guilty of an 'Extreme DUI'. (28-1382) Penalties for this are at least thirty days in jail, a fine of at least two hundred fifty dollars, an additional assessment of two hundred fifty dollars, you may have to perform community service, and you may be ordered by a court to equip your vehicle with an ignition interlock device (prevents your car from starting unless you pass a breathalyzer) for at least one year.

    The penalties are even stiffer for repeat offenders. Penalties for repeat offenders include higher fines, more time in jail, and loss of driving privledges for at least a year.

    To read more about Arizona Drunk Driving laws, visit the Laws section of LawForKids.org.


    Comments
    1 thru 5 of 5 comments    [ 1 ]   
    On 08/30/07
    Cody N from AZ said:
    my friend got a dui and he only had to spend 24 hours in jail and pay a $250 fine. no community service but he got his liscense revoked.
    On 08/26/04
    Chantel A. from AZ said:
    What if your Blood Alcohol Content is less than 18 if your a minor?
    On 03/08/04
    CN from AZ said:
    My husband just got an Extreme DUI at .182(his first), I feel the laws are justified and they are designed to protect the "other" people on the road as well. We all make mistakes. BUT.. suspending his license is effecting his job( he drives on the job) so how are the courts going to get there money if they suspend his license(UMMM)? The first time should be enough to scare them but if it happens a second time... blast them with the charges and take thier license away.
    On 03/20/02
    Steve T. from AZ said:
    The DUI Laws in Arizona changed in 2001. The legal limit for drinking and driving for people over age 21 is .08 BAC. There is also an Extremem DUI Law set at .15 BAC. Also remember that the legal age for consumption is 21 and because of that it is flat out illegal for anyone under 21 to drink and drive at any BAC!
    On 11/14/01
    Kandy Gunther from MD said:
    I think that for your first offense for having a DUI is straight because it will hopefully teach people a lesson not to do it again by going to a class but i don't think that they should have there liscense suspended.
    1 thru 5 of 5 comments    [ 1 ]   



    Read more about the law and Driving
    Related Stories
    Related Laws
    LFK Home   |   Speak Up!   |   Stories   |   Toons   |   Laws   |   Justice for All   |   Law Docs   |   Change It!   |   Games   |   Links
    He has a good point: on this page buy cheap accutane online browse around here.
    Disclaimer: The information contained in this site is made available as a public service to the general public and is not intended to serve as legal advice. You should consult a trained legal professional for questions you may have about the laws affecting juveniles or any legal interpretations.

    Send Feedback regarding website content or to report bugs.
    Copyright © 1998 - 2020. Arizona Foundation for Legal Services & Education, All rights reserved

    Privacy Policy  |  Terms of use  |  Disclaimer  |  Contact Us