Teachers *  About LFK * LFK en Espanol * Search LFK:   
Arizona
LFK Home Speak Up! Stories Toons Laws Justice for All Law Docs Change It! Games Links
Search Questions
 Speak Up! Topics
  Arrested (61)
  Banking (5)
  Bullying (6)
  Contracts (5)
  Credit (4)
  Curfew (44)
  Drinking (25)
  Driving (187)
  Emancipation (67)
  Family (219)
  Guns and Weapons (23)
  Housing (17)
  Illegal Substances (91)
  Jury Duty (15)
  Marriage (16)
  New Laws (15)
  Other (378)
  School (118)
  Sexual Assault and Misconduct (31)
  Trouble (34)
  Vandalism and Property Damage (8)
  Violence (87)
  Voting (6)
  When You Turn 18 (107)
  Work and Employment (24)

Latest Questions
  • Is it illegal to download foreign items that is not licensed in United States?

  • I have a questions for you. Since i'm emancipated do I still have to have my parent sign for me to get a tatoo in arizona. And if not would i have to bring the emancipation papers with me to get a tatoo.thanx for answering all my questions.

  • how many people can i have in my car,and what is the curfew in goodyear,az

  • what is the cerfew for pinetop-lakeside, az?

  • Can I get emancipated if I'm only 15, if I'm pregnant, and still going to school? And can I live with my boyfriend which he has a job and will prvied everything needed for me and my baby.

  • Search Dictionary

    Tell a friend about this page!
    Type a friend’s email address into the box below, then hit ‘send.

    Speak Up! - View Question #24598


    printer friendly version

    Question:

    It says here on question "What are the laws regarding minors and sexual consent?" that a minor can not consent to sexual conduct. However, its says here  on question "i am 16 dating a 20 year old we are not having sex. is that illegal?" Its okay if the younger is at least 15, not 24 months younger than the older, and the older person is either still in high school or under 19. These seem to contradict eachother? Which is it?



    Answer:

    The laws actually do not contradict themselves because of how a lawyer would read them.  The first statute is the rule of law which states the basic rule of the statute. The second statute is the defense against the basic law.  The defense provides a specific exception under those particular circumstances which would make the basic rule not apply in that case. However, if a person can't / doesn't use the defense in court than the basic rule would be the law that would be followed.


    Comments
    1 thru 1 of 1 comments    [ 1 ]   
    On 08/03/08
    Ali from TX said:
    Depends on what state your in, different states have different laws. Texas, where I am, if the two parties are minors (under 18) that are sexually active, they cannot be more than 3 years apart. If they are the older is subject to sexual assult charges, even if it was consent. If the older is not a minor but the older is, automatic sexual assult. (If sexually active) if not, it could be indecency with a minor.
    1 thru 1 of 1 comments    [ 1 ]   



    Read more about the law and Sexual Assault and Misconduct
    Related Stories
    Related Laws
    • Sexual Assault and Misconduct
      • No laws found!
    LFK Home   |   Speak Up!   |   Stories   |   Toons   |   Laws   |   Justice for All   |   Law Docs   |   Change It!   |   Games   |   Links
    Visit site: see details buying accutane online usa get more info.
    Disclaimer: The information contained in this site is made available as a public service to the general public and is not intended to serve as legal advice. You should consult a trained legal professional for questions you may have about the laws affecting juveniles or any legal interpretations.

    Send Feedback regarding website content or to report bugs.
    Copyright © 1998 - 2020. Arizona Foundation for Legal Services & Education, All rights reserved

    Privacy Policy  |  Terms of use  |  Disclaimer  |  Contact Us