Speak Up! - View Question #25256
printer friendly version
Question: How old to drive a car with out a parent.
Answer: In Arizona, if you are at least 15 and 6 months old AND pass all parts of the permit exam by the Motor Vehicle Division (so you have a graduated instruction permit), you can drive if you have your permit AND you are with a person who has a valid driver’s license AND is 21 years old or older AND is sitting in the front seat of the car. So, during this time if youa re going to drive, you need a permit from the Motor Vehicle Division, and you need to have a person who is over 21 and has a valid driver's license in the car with you, and that person must be sitting in the front seat.
From 16 to 18 years old, if you meet all the requirements from the Motor Vehicle Division (so you have a class G driver’s license), the rules change depending on how long you are driving and what time you are driving.
To find out more about driving rules in Arizona, take a look at the new driver's license law section of the LawForKids.org website.