Teachers *  About LFK * LFK en Espanol * Search LFK:   
Arizona
LFK Home Speak Up! Stories Toons Laws Justice for All Law Docs Change It! Games Links
Search Questions
 Speak Up! Topics
  Arrested (61)
  Banking (5)
  Bullying (6)
  Contracts (5)
  Credit (4)
  Curfew (44)
  Drinking (25)
  Driving (187)
  Emancipation (67)
  Family (219)
  Guns and Weapons (23)
  Housing (17)
  Illegal Substances (91)
  Jury Duty (15)
  Marriage (16)
  New Laws (15)
  Other (378)
  School (118)
  Sexual Assault and Misconduct (31)
  Trouble (34)
  Vandalism and Property Damage (8)
  Violence (87)
  Voting (6)
  When You Turn 18 (107)
  Work and Employment (24)

Latest Questions
  • Is it illegal to download foreign items that is not licensed in United States?

  • I have a questions for you. Since i'm emancipated do I still have to have my parent sign for me to get a tatoo in arizona. And if not would i have to bring the emancipation papers with me to get a tatoo.thanx for answering all my questions.

  • how many people can i have in my car,and what is the curfew in goodyear,az

  • what is the cerfew for pinetop-lakeside, az?

  • Can I get emancipated if I'm only 15, if I'm pregnant, and still going to school? And can I live with my boyfriend which he has a job and will prvied everything needed for me and my baby.

  • Search Dictionary

    Tell a friend about this page!
    Type a friend’s email address into the box below, then hit ‘send.

    Speak Up! - View Question #88


    printer friendly version

    Question:

    What is the new drivers license law?



    Answer:
    This law applies to anyone who gets their permit or driver’s license after June 30, 2008.
    See the Motor Vehicle Division for specific information on these new laws.
     
    Graduated Instruction Permit (A.R.S. § 28-3154)
    Requirements
    ·        Teen is at least 15 years and 6 months old AND
    ·        Passes all parts of the exam other than the driving test for D or G licenses
     
    Rules
    ·        The permit driver can drive on the public highways for 12 months if
    o       The driver has the permit with him or her AND
    o       The driver is with a person who is at least 21(with a valid license) and is in the front seat next to the driver.
     
    Class G (Graduated) Driver’s License (A.R.S. § 28-3174)
    Requirement
    ·        Driver is at least 16, but less than 18 years old and meets the other MVD requirements.
     
    Rules for the first six months (A.R.S. § 28-3174 (D), (E) and (F))
    ·        The driver cannot drive on a public highway between 12:00 a.m. and 5:00 a.m. unless:
    o       The driver is with a parent or legal guardian (with a valid license) who is in the front seat next to the driver.
    o       The driver is driving directly to or from a school sponsored activity, employment, a sanctioned religious activity, or a family emergency
    ·        The driver cannot drive on a public highway at any time with more than one passenger under the age of 18, unless:
    o       The passenger’s are the driver’s siblings
    o       The driver is with a parent or legal guardian (with a valid license) who is in the front seat next to the driver.
    ·        The driver can only be stopped if the peace officer has reasonable cause to believe that the driver is violating a motor vehicle law of Arizona other than this one.
     
    Consequences (A.R.S. § 28-3174 (G))
    ·        First violation
    o       maximum penalty of $75
    o       Rules are extended for 30 extra days
    ·        Second violation
    o       Maximum penalty of $100
    o       Rules extended for 60 extra days, but 30 days for the first violation may be added on for a total of 90 days.
    ·        Third violation
    o       Maximum penalty of $100
    o       Suspended license for 30 days
    o       If the driver already has a suspended license for a moving violation or traffic offense then the 30 days is added on to the suspension.
     
    Class M (Motorcycle) Instruction Permit (A.R.S. § 28-3156)
    Requirement
    ·        Teen is at least 16 years and 6 months old AND
    ·        Passes all parts of the exam other than the motorcycle skill test and all MVD requirements.
     
    Rules
    ·        Can drive a motorcycle when the permit driver has the class M permit
    ·        The permit is valid for 7 months
    ·        Cannot drive a motorcycle
    o       On a controlled access highway (A.R.S. § 28-601)
    o       On a public highway from sunset to sunrise or when there is not enough light out to clearly see a person and a vehicle on the highway at 500 feet away.
     
    Class M (Motorcycle) Driver’s License
    Requirements
    ·        Driver is at least 16 and meets all of the MVD requirements.

    Comments
    1 thru 5 of 7 comments    [ 1 ]  2    
    On 09/23/08
    daphne from AZ said:
    well its great that people put these laws because i wouldnt feel safer. well i thank you people for these laws i can live longer and safer without thinking that people are out there in the streets hurting others. anyways if we didnt have laws we wouldnt have a safer society.
    On 07/26/07
    sam from AZ said:
    Hey does anyone know if you know have to be 18 to drive alone in az
    On 03/27/06
    jasmine from LA said:
    this damn law is stupid law it interferses with prom
    On 12/15/03
    jean from NY said:
    i want to know if is legal to keep you expired license in your wallet
    On 12/12/03
    Stephen from AZ said:
    How does this work for a motorcycle? The instructions for the motorcycle permit say that I cannot have a passenger and I cannot ride at night. The graduated license stuff says that I have to. The people at the driver license office were not sure.
    1 thru 5 of 7 comments    [ 1 ]  2    



    Read more about the law and Driving
    Related Stories
    Related Laws
    LFK Home   |   Speak Up!   |   Stories   |   Toons   |   Laws   |   Justice for All   |   Law Docs   |   Change It!   |   Games   |   Links
    Discover more here: provide a link where to buy isotretinoin visit this thread right here.
    Disclaimer: The information contained in this site is made available as a public service to the general public and is not intended to serve as legal advice. You should consult a trained legal professional for questions you may have about the laws affecting juveniles or any legal interpretations.

    Send Feedback regarding website content or to report bugs.
    Copyright © 1998 - 2020. Arizona Foundation for Legal Services & Education, All rights reserved

    Privacy Policy  |  Terms of use  |  Disclaimer  |  Contact Us