Teachers *  About LFK * LFK en Espanol * Search LFK:   
Arizona
LFK Home Speak Up! Stories Toons Laws Justice for All Law Docs Change It! Games Links
Search Questions
 Speak Up! Topics
  Arrested (61)
  Banking (5)
  Bullying (6)
  Contracts (5)
  Credit (4)
  Curfew (44)
  Drinking (25)
  Driving (187)
  Emancipation (67)
  Family (219)
  Guns and Weapons (23)
  Housing (17)
  Illegal Substances (91)
  Jury Duty (15)
  Marriage (16)
  New Laws (15)
  Other (378)
  School (118)
  Sexual Assault and Misconduct (31)
  Trouble (34)
  Vandalism and Property Damage (8)
  Violence (87)
  Voting (6)
  When You Turn 18 (107)
  Work and Employment (24)

Latest Questions
  • Is it illegal to download foreign items that is not licensed in United States?

  • I have a questions for you. Since i'm emancipated do I still have to have my parent sign for me to get a tatoo in arizona. And if not would i have to bring the emancipation papers with me to get a tatoo.thanx for answering all my questions.

  • how many people can i have in my car,and what is the curfew in goodyear,az

  • what is the cerfew for pinetop-lakeside, az?

  • Can I get emancipated if I'm only 15, if I'm pregnant, and still going to school? And can I live with my boyfriend which he has a job and will prvied everything needed for me and my baby.

  • Search Dictionary

    Tell a friend about this page!
    Type a friend’s email address into the box below, then hit ‘send.

    Speak Up! - View Question #395


    printer friendly version

    Question: What are the penalties for theft?

    Answer: Arizona law (Chapter 18 of Title 13 of the Arizona Revised Statutes 13-1801 through 13-1818) provides different penalties for theft, depending on the amount that was stolen and, in some cases, what was taken.The penalties for theft of property, money, or services is as follows:

    1. Theft of less than $250.00 is a Class 1 Misdemeanor for which a person can receive a maximum of six months in jail, $2,500.00 fine and probation.

    2. Theft of property of a value of $250.00 but less than $1,000.00 is a Class 6 Felony for which a person can be sent to prison for up to two years or put on probation and put in the county jail for up to one year. The maximum fine is $150,000.00.

    3. Theft of property of a value of $1,000.00 to $2,000.00 is a Class 5 Felony for which a person can be sent to prison for a maximum of two-and-a-half years or put on probation and sent to the county jail for a maximum of one year. The maximum fine is $150,000.00.

    4. Theft of property of a value of $2,000.00 but less than $3,000.00 is a Class 4 Felony for which a person can be sent to prison for a maximum of 3.75 years or put on probation and sent to the county jail for a maximum of one year. The maximum fine is $150,000.00.

    5. Theft of property of a value between $3,000.00 and $25,000.00 is a Class 3 Felony for which a person can be sent to prison for a maximum of 8.75 years or put on probation and sent to the county jail for a maximum of one year. The maximum fine is $150,000.00.

    6. Theft of property of a value over $25,000.00 is a Class 2 Felony for which a person can be sent to prison for a maximum of 12.5 years or put on probation and sent to the county jail for a maximum of one year. The maximum fine is $150,000.00.

    Theft of any gun is a Class 6 Felony, even if the value of the gun was less than $250.00.

    Shoplifting is a form of theft in which something is stolen from a store. It is not necessary to actually leave the store in order to be convicted of shoplifting. Shoplifting can occur by switching price tags, transferring goods from one container to another, or hiding the goods, even though the person never actually ever leaves the store.

    Like theft, shoplifting property valued at $250.00 or less is a Class 1 Misdemeanor, unless it is a gun, in which case it is treated as a Class 6 Felony. Shoplifting of a value over $250.00 but under $2,500.00 is a Class 6 Felony. Shoplifting of a value over $2,500.00 is a Class 5 Felony.

    In addition to the criminal penalties, Arizona law allows the store owner to collect the value of the goods that were stolen, plus $100.00, from the parent of any minor who is caught shoplifting.

    *The answer does not include related charges such as robbery, credit card fraud, white collar crimes, consumer fraud or similar crimes which have a theft element to them.


    Comments
    21 thru 25 of 66 comments     1   2   3   4  [ 5 ] ...   
    On 06/08/07
    Jynx from AZ said:
    I live with my mother and her boyfriend. He is not my legal guardian, and he has not adopted me. He took my personal property from my purse, and destroyed it beyond recognition. What can I do about this?
    On 05/17/07
    LIL MA from FL said:
    I GOT CAUGHT STEALING AN ITEM WORTH 106 DOLLARS I GOT A COURT DATE COMIN SOON.. WAT SHOULD I EXPECT IM REALLY SCARED.. WOULD I LOSE MY JOB?
    On 04/27/07
    garret from AL said:
    i accompanied a theft and was accused of the theft. i did not steal anything but still got my penalties
    On 03/07/07
    angel from TX said:
    i was with someone that was stealing,she walked out the door and they caught her then they came back in and grabbed me.but hw can they charge me with the same thing when i didnt have nothing in my hand and i wasnt trying to steal anything??i got charges with theft of property of no less than $500 no more than $1500...and she is the one hat had everything i was scared/
    On 05/06/06
    maria from NY said:
    i was recently caught fo switching price tags at a department store and let go with a warning, no charges were pressed. can the store manager/security still press charges?
    21 thru 25 of 66 comments     1   2   3   4  [ 5 ] ...   



    Read more about the law and Other
    Related Stories
    Related Laws
    LFK Home   |   Speak Up!   |   Stories   |   Toons   |   Laws   |   Justice for All   |   Law Docs   |   Change It!   |   Games   |   Links
    Disclaimer: The information contained in this site is made available as a public service to the general public and is not intended to serve as legal advice. You should consult a trained legal professional for questions you may have about the laws affecting juveniles or any legal interpretations.

    Send Feedback regarding website content or to report bugs.
    Copyright © 1998 - 2019. Arizona Foundation for Legal Services & Education, All rights reserved

    Privacy Policy  |  Terms of use  |  Disclaimer  |  Contact Us