Teachers *  About LFK * LFK en Espanol * Search LFK:   
Arizona
LFK Home Speak Up! Stories Toons Laws Justice for All Law Docs Change It! Games Links
Search Questions
 Speak Up! Topics
  Arrested (61)
  Banking (5)
  Bullying (6)
  Contracts (5)
  Credit (4)
  Curfew (44)
  Drinking (25)
  Driving (187)
  Emancipation (67)
  Family (219)
  Guns and Weapons (23)
  Housing (17)
  Illegal Substances (91)
  Jury Duty (15)
  Marriage (16)
  New Laws (15)
  Other (378)
  School (118)
  Sexual Assault and Misconduct (31)
  Trouble (34)
  Vandalism and Property Damage (8)
  Violence (87)
  Voting (6)
  When You Turn 18 (107)
  Work and Employment (24)

Latest Questions
  • Is it illegal to download foreign items that is not licensed in United States?

  • I have a questions for you. Since i'm emancipated do I still have to have my parent sign for me to get a tatoo in arizona. And if not would i have to bring the emancipation papers with me to get a tatoo.thanx for answering all my questions.

  • how many people can i have in my car,and what is the curfew in goodyear,az

  • what is the cerfew for pinetop-lakeside, az?

  • Can I get emancipated if I'm only 15, if I'm pregnant, and still going to school? And can I live with my boyfriend which he has a job and will prvied everything needed for me and my baby.

  • Search Dictionary

    Tell a friend about this page!
    Type a friend’s email address into the box below, then hit ‘send.

    Speak Up! - View Question #553


    printer friendly version

    Question: What is the maximum penalty for underage drinking?

    Answer:

    Arizona law (A.R.S. § 8-323) provides for the following penalties for a minor who purchases, possesses, or consumes, spirituous liquor:

     

    1. Probation.

    2. A juvenile court hearing.

    3. Driving privileges suspended for 180 days.

    4. Attendance at a counseling or education program.

    5. A fine of up to $500.00.

    6. Community service work.

    7. If truancy is involved, a whole host of programs with parents.

    8. With a prior record that indicates delinquency, a whole other host of headaches.

    9. A stern talking to by the judge. (Don't laugh, an angry judge is a very scary thing.)

     

    It appears that a judge can impose any combination of these things that she thinks is a good idea. Laws in other states are probably similar. The law about juveniles is never cut and dried.


    Comments
    21 thru 25 of 60 comments     1   2   3   4  [ 5 ] ...   
    On 07/18/07
    from AL said:
    it was 4th of july and i had a beer with a friend. i went back to my dorm at 11:00 pm FOR MY CERFEW, they noticed i was drinking and called the cops. i blew a 0.033 and got a mip. they kicked me out of my summer school dorms. and my classes. ive never gotten in trouble with the law before, what should i say to the judge if i cannot offord a ticket??
    On 07/09/07
    Vinny from OH said:
    The other night i got an underage becuase i was called in by my friends neighbor who's hosue i was sleeping at for "breaking and entering" the cops showed up and noticed i was drunk, but they didn't take any test or anything to prove that i was drinking,and i didn't have any alcohol containers with me, could i possibily appeal to that in court?
    On 02/26/07
    kandac from IN said:
    i almost died from alcohol poisoning. and now i have court on march 12th and i have no idea wats goin to happen to me. i didnt really get in to that much trouble from my parents i just got told not to ever do it again. i have learned my lesson from that i will never do that again. my bac level was .240 i was in a coma and i wasnt breathing so they had to cut my clothes off and they were goin to stick a tube down my throat so i could breathe.
    On 10/15/06
    brandi from AZ said:
    I got caught last night by the cops at a park drinking. I said i drank two beers, but i blew a .096 so i think i had more. I don't remember? I don't remember much of last night?. but what happens when i call the number on the ticket thing? thanks for any help in advance.
    On 07/10/06
    Tristan from AZ said:
    i was caught with a beer can in my hand outside of a club and was charged with an MIP of alcohol/underage consumption. However i was completely compliant with the officer. can anyone give me more info as to what might happen in court because of this one beer can. Should i plead guilty?
    21 thru 25 of 60 comments     1   2   3   4  [ 5 ] ...   



    Read more about the law and Illegal Substances
    Related Stories
    Related Laws
    LFK Home   |   Speak Up!   |   Stories   |   Toons   |   Laws   |   Justice for All   |   Law Docs   |   Change It!   |   Games   |   Links
    Learn this here now: click to learn more accutane and triglycerides additional resources.
    Disclaimer: The information contained in this site is made available as a public service to the general public and is not intended to serve as legal advice. You should consult a trained legal professional for questions you may have about the laws affecting juveniles or any legal interpretations.

    Send Feedback regarding website content or to report bugs.
    Copyright © 1998 - 2019. Arizona Foundation for Legal Services & Education, All rights reserved

    Privacy Policy  |  Terms of use  |  Disclaimer  |  Contact Us